School experience 

Tuesday:

On Tuesday I went into Sidney Stringer Academy for my teaching placement but the teacher was sick. I was then taken into the art department where I was advised to stay and help a cooking class. The design department were really friendly and said that I shouldn’t have to waste another day so I can learn choose what I wanted to do. I thought it would be a good idea to just help the food technology teacher as experience in a teaching environment was the main reason I wanted to do this.

I went and helped the food tech teacher with her baking the cake . I needed experience in a classroom environment.

This was the first half of the day which was  fun. I helped the children with cooking an upside down cake. The teacher was really happy that I was their to help because I could see how hard it gets in their. I was helping with year 7 which were very quiet and I went to help all of them with tasks. They were struggling with opening a can which I showed and helped them individually. The 2 hours were busy for me because they all wanted help and the teacher was at the front explaining the process and giving out material to the children that didn’t bring their ingredients.

I didn’t take pictures whilst the students were there because some of the students don’t have parental consent to take pictures. I thought to take pictures before and after the class.

IMG_2657

IMG_2658

A rack for the students to cool down their cake. A lot of children bought pineapple slices or peach slices to decorate the cake. 


IMG_2660

The upside down cake left to cool down. The students will pick them up after school. 

The teacher gave me the cake she had made because she was pleased with the help.  She spoke to me about the issues that a teacher in the design faculty gets.  Their are issues with children not bringing the equipment/ ingredient or not focusing in class.  She says their are different abilities of students so you have to be aware and work differently with different children. She was saying how usually she has a technician to help her which she says is really important in such classes 

For the first classroom experience it was good.  I think I wouldn’t mind becoming a teacher because I enjoy making a difference and help others. I think helping students and seeing the same passion you have for the subject ; allows you to become a good teacher. For a student to love the subject , the teacher needs to show a lot of interest. I think I have that ability to help student. I think if I was teacher I would want to be a textiles teacher. In the future this could be something I’d want to do.

Afternoon Textiles lesson:

The teacher wasn’t in as she was unwell so their was a cover teacher. The cover teacher was an English teachIMG_2662er which came down in her free period to cover. She was happy with my help. 

She didn’t know how to draw so she was happy I could assist with the children to help them draw and make sure they annotate their work. The teacher had already told me about the work the students would be doing so I was a little prepared and did some research with bags. I told the year 7 to look at their bags and I Showed a few images of bags on the interactive board after talking to the teacher. She was happy for me to help them.

I went individually to each table to make sure each student had some work done. Their was a few students who didn’t want to work and they thought the lesson would just be a play around. I had to sit with them a few times to make sure they were doing some work. I made sure all students had completed all the tasks. Some students were finding it hard to make a bag so I helped them draw by drawing on another paper and showing easy ways to draw.

I found the lesson more interesting as this was the area I know and understand. I felt really good being able to help the young students with drawings and understanding the features of a bag.

These are few examples of the work the students did. The task was to draw a school bag, the front and the back. After they did this they would fill the questions on the left hand side of the A3 sheet. After they had completed this task , they needed to draw 6 logo for the bag which was inspired by something they like , a hobby etc.

Leave a comment